Edge 30 Reviews

 5 out of 5 ,based on 21 reviews

 

Commuter Guy from Eugene OR on Apr 23, 2018
This backpack is the best! Made to order in the USA quality can be seen immediately when you begin to add your belongings inside the waterproof section and the many zippered pockets. Rainfly is a necessity when raining and works as designed. Shoulder and hip straps built with comfort, durability, and function in mind. It looks great too! Nice to custom order colors for added personal touch along with perfect sizing options when using the sizing chart. Well done! I highly recommend this backpack!
DPotts from New York & Philly on May 15, 2017
I love my VT edge 30. I got it for urban commuting and it's perfect. Cover it in the rain & wind and lots of pockets to organize my stuff, carry gym clothes and fit my laptop. It makes this teacher very happy! When I'm not using it for work I pack it for travel- right on the plane, no issues and has plenty of room for all I need for a get away. The liner makes it super easy to clean when I have my clumsy moments. 

I can adjust the straps for the outer gear I'm wearing and it doesn't kill my back like most other packs. It's perfect for my small frame too. I'm about 5'4 on tall days and this pack doesn't pull me down and fits comfortably. 

I'm so glad I made the investment and can support a small business at the same time. Excellent customer service too!! 
Stephen Boyd from MInneapolis, MN on Aug 29, 201
This is a very early initial review. My Black Edge 30 arrived on Thursday. I typically only commute to work every other day because it's 42 miles round trip and I'm not the young buck I used to be. I had ridden on Thursday so Friday should have been on off day. With the pack arriving I figured I needed to get a test ride in to I cheated and did my bike/light rail/bike route both ways which shrinks it down to 25 miles round trip. 

Initial observations are that it is a fantastically comfortable pack. I had it loaded up pretty good with my u-lock, iPad, 3/4# blue tooth speaker, tools and extra layers as well as the hip pack I typically wore with my previous pack because it didn't have a lot of organization options. Pack performed spectacularly. No unwanted movement and extremely comfortable. 

I'm very pleased so far and may provide a more thorough review after I get a few more miles on it.
Jenny Shu from San Francisco, CA on Apr 24, 2015
I bought the Edge 30, women's small May 2013 and this backpack has stood up to the elements and more. I commute/travel by bike 6 days a week and my pack has seen its share of rain, dirt, and action. 

I change at work after commuting on my bike and I need my clothes to be dry when I get to the office. In San Francisco winter rainy months, not a drop of water gets into the main compartment. On lighter rain days, I don't always put down the rain cover and mostly everything still stays dry but if the cover is down, then I have yet to have small eletronics or wallet get wet in the front top flat pocket. The rain flap is great for visibility at night and of course, in the rain! 

I take my bag everywhere I go after work if I'm not going straight home and it has stood the abuse of being on the floor of public transit, bars, restaurants, and parks. The fabric is very sturdy and easy to wipe down. 

The long pocket that runs the length of the length between the two front pockets & main compartment is the perfect place to store my lock. I keep my gloves, ear warmers and tire levers in the bottom front pocket. My wallet and keys and other essentials go in the top front pocket, which is very easy to get to. 

The main compartment is big enough for a decent trip to the grocery store, and because the liner is waterproof... if anything spills or breaks inside, you can easily wipe it down clean. (yes, I've had to do this!) 

Don't be fooled that one-size fits all! I'm a small-framed 5'3" female and while I could find waterproof bags, finding a waterproof bag was always a challenge! The Edge 30 women's small is perfect for daily commute, an overnight bag, carry-on for the airplane or a trip to the grocery store. I rarely leave home without it... even when I'm not biking!
YH from Singapore on Dec 18, 2014
I bought in orange, the Women's 30L a few months back. 
Great for weekend trips! 
Took it for a weekend tournament where I managed to pack a 1.5L Nalgene bottle, a pair of cleats, flip flops, tablet and 3 days worth of clothes. Bright yellow interior allowed me to search for my stash quickly. Very accessible compartmentalization. I love how the top zipper pocket can accommodate an A4 sized folder plus my tablet. 

Waterproof: 
I managed to test the bag's waterproof tolerance during a cycling trip to Taiwan along the east coast. Rain and mud got onto the pack and it was filthy for the entire ride. I checked my bag halfway and everything within was dry. 
I gave the bag a good wash at the end of the day using a hose and blast water onto it, with the rain cover down (ofcourse). Most of my clothes and electronics were still in the pack. Unveiled the rain cover and did a check again. All dry! The black material on the pack was really quick-drying as well so all was good by the next day for the ride again. 

I was hoping the rain cover could extend a little more to give more coverage of the bottom compartment sides. I stash quite a bit of stuff at the bottom pocket so it pops out and the rain cover cannot cover completely. Minor issue though, if you do not pack as much as me. 

I am 5 foot 5, 169cm. Adjustable harnesses and straps were at very strategic places and it was a super comfy fit. 

A very well-designed pack of which I got a few compliments already. I will definitely recommend Velotransit. The signatures gave it a really personal touch and I love it. Keep it up!
James J. Grant from Alamosa, Colorado, USA on Sep 20, 2014
Great pack. Quality of construction is excellent. Great pack. Quality of construction is excellent. Fit is terrific. It is every bit as good as promised.
Hobbes from New York City, NY on May 26, 2014
To start, I got the Men's medium Edge 30 in black. 
Highly durable backpack- I ride a lot in the rain and even when I took a few spills and skidded on concrete, this pack took a beating and only came out with a few neglible tears that were easily patched using the following: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0045CQELI/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 
The construction of all parts of the pack appear to be designed to bear heavy weight and endure long term, repetitive movements (e.g. durable zippers, straps that are not prone to fraying, etc) 

The pack absolutely met my needs in terms of it being water proof. The main roll top compartment is completely secure. What sold me was a youtube video of a guy waterskiing with this pack with a laptop in it. His laptop came out dry as a bone. Personally tested, I've used this to commute to and from work during torrential downpours and even when I didn't have a fender on the rear wheel!! The external pockets are not waterproof (except for the smallest pocket at the bottom which has loops for your lights) but if you use the rolltop, those pockets will be completely secure from water save for complete submersion. 

Beyond its durability, it's highly functional (and SUPER comfortable) as well. The narrow base allows me to peek behind myself and have an unobstructed view of traffic behind me. The back is reinforced with a lightweight square plastic plate so the pack retains its shape no matter how much gear you put in it. The waist and sternum straps keep the pack very secure to you so even on a bumpy ride or jerking around, the pack doesn't feel like it's jumping all over the place. The compression strap directly below the roll top keeps my things from jostling about even if I don't fully load the pack. My pack came with little vertical reflector strips that attached to the loops where your night blinkers would clip onto. I've used the optional front lashes for securing large boxes to the pack and I gotta say... this is probably one of my favorite features of this backpack. 

The ONLY thing that I would change would be the loops for the lights and this is purely my preference. I would have preferred them to be vertical so I could clip my lights upright and have them less likely to fall out. This is easily enough corrected though by putting a rubber band around the clip to prevent it from slipping off. I make sure to check the rubber band regularly though because the constant wet / drying off of the rubber band will make the rubber brittle. 

Altogether, this pack is absolutely awesome. I would *highly* recommend.
Bill R. from USA on May 25, 2014
This pack exceeded my expectations… I chose this pack to hold clothing and lunch for bicycle commuting. The size is perfect for the task. The pack fits perfectly and does not move about during my ride. The bright interior is beneficial. The two smaller exterior pockets are great for holding electronics and smaller items (wallet, keys, badge). The roll down bag design keeps the interior items dry; if you have not had experience with a roll down bag, I would expect it would not take long to become accustomed to it.
Velo appears to have put a lot of design work into the bag, as well as manufacturing controls. My bag is well made and appears it will last me many years. With this excellent experience, I am considering Velo's panniers in the future. Enjoy!
bb246795 from USA on Mar 16, 2014
Thank you Paul at Velo Transit!!!!! Great backpack, fit and function is awesome. I have not had a change to test it in the rain yet. I have tested the yellow rain flap as a safety feature while riding into work. My co-worker state they can see me at great distances.
Lots of room for your daily commute. I had no issues carrying clothing, and lunch for the Day, with room in other pockets/pouches for spare tools and tubes.
PRO
MADE IN THE USA!!!!!
Wayne Chan from Växjö, Sweden on Sep 02, 2013
I had my last cycling pack 20+ years and knew what I wanted in a pack. No zippers, waterproof, extra pockets, space for my U-lock, and comfortable. The Edge 30 had all of these features and more. Heaps of space for my daily commute into town, to hold a rain jacket, lunch, cell phone, wallet. I ride almost every day to work and I absolutely love the comfort of this pack. It's just the right length for my back and the shoulder straps are very comfortable. And I might just have the only Edge in Sweden... nice! Thanks Velo Transit.
Belinda from Kensington, MD USA on Jul 09, 2013
Thanks for spending time on the phone helping figure out the most appropriate bag - it was a gift so I had all sorts of questions. Came quick, responsive, thank you!!
Thomas Ertman from Missouri, MI USA on Jun 14, 2013
I've had at least a dozen backpacks over the years and I'd have to say I'm impressed both with the design and versatility of this thing. The pockets are perfectly arranged to carry a variety of things. The upper pockets I carry my droid tablet and kindle usually and the bottom pockets I stash my bike tools. I've put ice in this main compartment and used it as an impromptu beer cooler...no problem! I can easily fit two changes of clothes in this (pants not shorts) plus an extra pair of shoes and shaving stuff, bike tools, spare tube, a few books... I even do grocery runs with this
It did take some fiddling with to get the strap adjustments right, but whatever I'm carrying certainly feels better on my back than any other backpack I've used...AND i can see over my shoulder in my helmet mirror! I wouldn't say that it's less sweaty on the back than any other pack i've used, but I think that overall I am definitely please with it.
Mike Lear from Richmond, VA USA on May 10, 2013
I owned my ReLoad messenger bag for nine years and it still shows very little wear. But I wanted a backpack and I didn't like theirs. So I searched online for over a year. No kidding. I studied every pack made. Tumi, Hammarhead Industries, Goruck.... It came down to my Edge 30 and I could not be happier. American made and waterproof. I'll have this for years and years.
John Spoden from Seattle, WA USA on May 08, 2013
Commuted in to work for the first time this year...I love my new pack! Even though the weather hasn't challenged it yet, it felt light on my back...a natural fit. Thanks so much for the thoughtful design, the personal attention, and the warranty! I look forward to using it on many more rides for years to come.
Katelyn Ferreira from Brantford, ON CANADA on Apr 28, 2013
I got this bag in December and have used it daily! The bag is the most comfortable bag ever. You guys nailed this one with comfort! It took 4 months of constant use riding to work, but I finally got to test out the waterproofness of this pack. April showers hit hard and I was prepared! This pack kept everything dry in the main compartment as well as the outside with the rainfly zipped down! I was extremely impressed.
The colour I chose was the orange! Nice bright and visible to the drivers on the road. If I'm working the night shift, I ride in with the rainfly zipped on. The yellow of the rainfly is added visibility!
The pockets on this pack are great. The bottom front holds my multitool, gloves, head band, spare tube, etc. The pocket behind holds my wallet, and work calendar. The front top pocket holds all my misc items such as cell, chapstick, spork, ipod, receipts, etc. The lengthy pocket behind hold my pay stubs and my u-lock!
Thanks for making the perfect pack!
Peter Bartzen from Sheboygan, WI USA on Feb 02, 2013
This bag conforms and hugs your back while still breathing (used in super humid southern Florida). I have Velo Transit panniers for my commuter that I am extremely happy with and needed something for when I'm on my road or mountain bike without racks so I can still carry things. The bright flourescent inside is great for visibility digging around in the bag. The great rolltop and zip down bright cover to keep things dry. There are plenty of pockets and a good one for your U-lock. There are even places to mount a taillights to the back. Another flawless design made in the states by Velo Transit, I love this company! I can't wait to use it in the snow when I'm back in Wisconsin.
Diana Fowler from Campbell, CA USA on Jun 30, 2012
It was exactly what my grandson wanted, the color, all the pockets, etc. He was thrilled with it. A very nice young man explained very thoroughly what it was all about so that I knew that I had gotten exactly what I had ordered. Thank you for such a good product & great customer service.
Ryan Harrison from Seattle, WA USA on Jun 18, 2012
I came upon this bag unexpectedly and at the right time. I live in Seattle, and happened upon Velo Transit's inconspicuous industrial shop in the twilight of my Ortlieb, that was eating itself from the inside out. It's concept was simple, which I had liked, but the fit and attention to detail was simplistic. This is when I spied for the first time, the VT Edge 30, the antithesis of my now former bag. As a daily cyclist, running errands between work and home, this pack has been my swiss arm knife. The pockets are so well laid out that I can reach several of them without removing the bag, such as those containing my wallet, keys and phone, all of which I'm often accessing. The outer top holds my spare gloves, U-lock and lashing straps with room to spare. This is the easiest pocket to reach when the bag is off, which is perfect for these items. The pocket in front of this is super clever in that it stashes my iPad beautifully and just as well, some nice analog books or a thin binder or note pad. I don't have to do open heart surgery on my bag in the cafe to get to a book. The main compartment is the perfect size for my food, clothes and other bulky items, that when distributed, go unnoticed on my back. The hardware and stitchery on this beauty is top of the line. Monster YKK zippers do not get jammed and are easy to grab with gloved hands. In the four months i've owned this bag through a anything goes winter into a wet spring and with my not so gentle ways, it shows no weak point of construction. It's just well thought out and bomb proof, period. And I can't leave this review without a word on ergonomics. This bag is bliss on the back with it's sculpted contour and shoulder straps that spread the load nicely and without digging in to your sides. I'd go as far as to say, it hugs you. U.S. made, waterproof, comfortable and versatile, make the VT Edge 30 a keeper.
Cameron Brown from Redmond, WA USA on Apr 04, 2012
I bought an Edge 30 three months ago and I absolutely love it. First of all, it is 100% waterproof. I carry my laptop and iPad in it during my daily bicycle commutes in the Seattle rain, and haven't had a single drop of moisture in the main compartment. I also haven't had a drop of moisture in the front pockets, which aren't guaranteed to be 100% waterproof, but in my experience they basically are (especially with the storm shield down). The pack is incredibly well made, very strong. Now that I'm used to it I throw it around without worrying about it - I know it can take it. Everything is very easy to use. The zippers are high quality and don't snag. The roll top is very well designed and takes only a couple of seconds to open or close. The straps and harness are well balanced, I can carry a fair bit of weight and it's nicely distributed and doesn't fatigue my back. It also holds the pack a little bit off your back so sweat isn't an issue - there's airflow between you and the load. I got mine in all black with a yellow storm shield. With the storm shield stowed it just looks like a black backpack, and I'm happy to carry it around indoors. Highly recommended if you need to commute in the rain, or just if you want a beautifully made backpack for daily use.
Esther Garcia-Cuellar from Seattle, WA USA on Dec 10, 2011
The best biking packs EVER!!!
Jonathan Childers from Seattle, WA USA on Oct 14, 2011
I went to SODO to meet Paul in his shop. The demo models had been shipped off to interbike. So Paul walked me through his shop, showing me each piece that would go into The Edge, explaining how it would be constructed.
I had some requests re my particular needs and Paul accommodated all of those with customizations. I explained my timeline for delivery was compressed because I was starting classes - and he committed to delivery by the day before classes started.
I was amazed with Paul's knowledge and demeanor. And when I received the pack (on time), I was blown away by his craftsmanship. I use the bag daily. I carry twenty pounds and the Edge is comfortable all day. It is quiet and fast to open/close the main section. The pockets are spacious and well engineering for easy access. And the floating liner keeps things bone dry.
I have never had a more solid, comfortable, well-made pack than the Edge. Paul is a master craftsman. Let him make you pack- you will love it.
Men's Size Chart